Katherine C. Nordal Ph.D.

Katherine C. Nordal

Dr. Katherine C. Nordal served as Executive Director for Professional Practice for the American Psychological Association and the APA Practice Organization, including psychology’s Political Action Committee (PAC), from January 2008-May of 2018. In that capacity, Dr. Nordal oversaw a wide range of legislative, legal, regulatory and marketplace activities designed to advance and protect the professional practice of psychology and to help ensure the availability of quality psychological services. Dr. Nordal also served as the interim Executive Director of the APA Ethics Office from September 2015 until her retirement from APA in May 2018.

Practice programs and initiatives under her leadership included the Public Education (Stress in America, Mind-Body Health) Campaign and network, the Disaster Resource Network; Professional Practice Guidelines and Clinical Practice Guidelines development; Practice Communications; the Center for Psychology and Health; the Qualified Clinical Data Registry for outcomes measures; the Practice Leadership Conference; Government Relations advocacy and lobbying activities; SPTA consultation and grants support; and, legal/regulatory consultations to individual psychologists on a number of practice-related issues, ranging from ethical, legal, and regulatory concerns to reimbursement, insurance contracts, and business practices.

Dr. Nordal received her Master’s degree from Georgia State University and her PhD from the University of Mississippi. She began her professional career as the director of child and adolescent services at the Warren-Yazoo CMHC in Mississippi. She owned and managed a full-time group private practice in Mississippi for 28 years before her tenure at APA began in 2008. Her clinical interests included learning, behavioral and emotional disorders in children and adolescents; neuropsychological assessment; brain injury in children and adults; and civil forensic psychology.

Dr. Nordal is a fellow of APA and the Mississippi Psychological Association. She chaired the APA Committee on Rural Health, served on APA's Board of Directors from 2001 to 2003, and served on and then chaired the Committee for the Advancement of Professional Practice (CAPP) from 2003 to 2007. Dr. Nordal was a trustee of the Trust 2003-2007. She has also served as treasurer of the Division of State Psychological Associations and finance chair for the Division of Independent Practice.

Dr. Nordal is a past president of the Mississippi Psychological Association and represented Mississippi on APA’s Council of Representatives. She served as executive secretary for the Mississippi Board of Psychology, which licenses psychologists for practice. She is a past president of the Brain Injury Association of Mississippi. Nordal is a recipient of the Mississippi Psychological Association's Kinloch Gill Outstanding Professional Psychologist Award, the association's Distinguished Practitioner Award and, in 2003 she was recognized with the association's Distinguished Fellow Award.

Dr. Nordal is also a recipient of APA's Karl F. Heiser Presidential Award for advocacy on behalf of psychology. In 2009, she was recognized by Division 31 as the outstanding psychologist in a state, provincial or territorial psychological association. Nordal was also inducted into the National Academies of Practice as a Distinguished Practitioner in Psychology. She was an APA/AAAS Congressional Science Fellow (1990-91) and served as a legislative assistant in the U.S. House of Representatives and with the House Select Committee on Hunger.

Dr. Nordal brings to the Trust a strong background in psychological association leadership at the state and national level in both management and board positions, solid business financial management skills, a history of strong relationships with SPTAs, business development experience, regulatory (licensing board) experience, public relation and public speaking skills, and a long work (independent practice) history with members of medical and allied health professions.

View all Trustees